You learn something new every day…

Fruit compote dish - Lincoln White House china...

Fruit compote dish – Lincoln White House china service – 2012 (Photo credit: dctim1)

… when you’re a translator.

At the moment I’m working on a political thriller, which has seen me researching the White House china collection, various mountains in the Swiss Alps, various bits of Roman Catholic liturgy and Bach’s St Matthew Passion  to name but a few topics from just one day. What Google’s search history must make of me is always a source of mild amusement. I’m also learning all kinds of things about aeroplanes, conspiracy theories and the geography of the Palo Duro Canyon in Texas, and so on.

Capitol Peak, along the hiking trail in Palo D...

Capitol Peak, along the hiking trail in Palo Duro Canyon, Texas, USA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Meanwhile, the other project I have on the go will (temporarily at least) turn me into an expert on Alfons Mucha. Did you know, for example, that he was an early adopter of photographic technology in painting? To prove it, here’s a photo he took of his friend Paul Gauguin playing the harmonium, with no trousers on. As you do.

 

Paul Gauguin playing the harmonium in Alfons M...

Paul Gauguin playing the harmonium in Alfons Mucha’s studio at rue de la Grande-Chaumière, Paris Français : Paul Gauguin jouant l’harmonium à l’atelier d’Alphonse Mucha, Rue de la Grande-Chaumière, Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have a good week everyone!

About forwardtranslations

I'm a freelance literary translator from German and French to English. The title of my blog comes from Mary Schmich's description of reading: it struck home with me, and seems especially apt for translated fiction. Here are some of my musings on what I'm reading, re-reading, reading to my children, and translating.
This entry was posted in Idle musing, Translation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment