Dinosaur Cake…

When I wrote about cookery books for Foody Kids Thursday I mentioned the Kids’ First Cook Book  (Angela Wilkes, Dorling Kindersley, 2011), and how Fils aîné’s entire birthday party was themed around the dinosaur cake. I hoped we could live up to the picture…

Well, after a few weeks’ postponement due to snow, the party was yesterday. Nothing quite went according to plan – my cat-herding skills aren’t quite up to organising 15 3-to-6-year-olds it appears – but they all had fun.

And I’m pleased to report that the book has such clear instructions and detailed pictures that the dinosaur cake did indeed resemble the picture. I was rather pleased with the finished result, and it tastes good too.

Dinosaur cake below recipe book

About forwardtranslations

I'm a freelance literary translator from German and French to English. The title of my blog comes from Mary Schmich's description of reading: it struck home with me, and seems especially apt for translated fiction. Here are some of my musings on what I'm reading, re-reading, reading to my children, and translating.
This entry was posted in Books, Children's Books, Idle musing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinosaur Cake…

  1. Madeleine says:

    It’s great. In fact, I prefer yours to the book, it has more personality.

Leave a comment