The Translator’s Alchemy

It’s Haiku Day for the Wordcount Blogathon 2013, and I’ve been inspired by a post by Thomas Rose-Masters on linguistblog.com. So thank you for the image and do go and read what he had to say about it.

The Translator’s Alchemy

Words recreated:

The translator’s alchemy

turns gold into gold.

Alchemy

Alchemy by Suzanne Hamilton, on Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

About forwardtranslations

I'm a freelance literary translator from German and French to English. The title of my blog comes from Mary Schmich's description of reading: it struck home with me, and seems especially apt for translated fiction. Here are some of my musings on what I'm reading, re-reading, reading to my children, and translating.
This entry was posted in blogging, Translation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Translator’s Alchemy

  1. Beautiful haiku! Plus I love that photo by Suzanne Hamilton!

  2. Ruth Kraut says:

    I love this visual, of gold into gold.

Leave a comment