If You’re Happy and You Know It…

… clap your hands! OK, we all know the song and as with fairytales, there seems to be a thriving industry turning nursery rhymes into picture books.

Anna McQuinn’s adaptation is illustrated by Sophie Fatus and published by Barefoot Books (2009). Their tagline is “Celebrating Art and Story” and it is the pictures that are the real delight here. Children from thirty-six different cultures (according to the blurb – I haven’t counted them) sing and dance their way through the classic song while at the end we get to meet them all, learn their names and say hello in each of their languages.

The verses should hopefully get little ones up and moving and it’s a nice touch to have the music at the end too, although our Bookstart edition doesn’t have the CD.

If You're Happy and You Know It!

by Anna McQuinn and Sophie Fatus, Barefoot Books (2009)

About forwardtranslations

I'm a freelance literary translator from German and French to English. The title of my blog comes from Mary Schmich's description of reading: it struck home with me, and seems especially apt for translated fiction. Here are some of my musings on what I'm reading, re-reading, reading to my children, and translating.
This entry was posted in Books, Children's Books, Reading, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment