Excitements and Excess in Translation

Excess by Mathias Frey

The end is finally in sight with the project I’ve been working on for some time now. My translation of Excess by Mathias Frey – a political/conspiracy thriller, if you were wondering –  is nearly finished. There’s lots of excitement, talk of covers and suchlike which is all good fun. I’ve also put together a Pinterest board to give a little taster of what it’s all about, which you can find here: Excess on Pinterest.

My translation of Roman Neugebauer’s illustrated life of Mucha is also now out from Vitalis and I got my lovely new copies in the post yesterday – always a thrill.

Mucha by Roman Neugebauer

Meanwhile, the shortlist for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize is also out, so congratulations to everyone concerned with that.  I reviewed Traveller of the Century a while back and enjoyed it but haven’t managed to read any of the other shortlisted titles.

And on Monday it’s start of the London Book Fair, which I am hugely thrilled about. Whoop! Last time I went was about ten years ago and it was not at all geared up for translators. Now, though, there’s the Literary Translation Centre which is apparently absolutely buzzing – certainly the programme sounds exciting. I’ve got my seminar plan all mapped out and hope for a chance for lots of networking, chatting and learning.

So lots to look forward to!

About forwardtranslations

I'm a freelance literary translator from German and French to English. The title of my blog comes from Mary Schmich's description of reading: it struck home with me, and seems especially apt for translated fiction. Here are some of my musings on what I'm reading, re-reading, reading to my children, and translating.
This entry was posted in Books, Translation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Excitements and Excess in Translation

  1. Pingback: EXCESS – The Art of Treason by Mathias Frey | a discount ticket to everywhere

Leave a comment